Holding Out For This Hero

So for some time now I’ve been meaning to pick up this little book I’d heard of about a year ago, but I never bothered to take the time. Then, an impromptu trip to the library ended in me checking it out.

https://i1.wp.com/janesevillebooks.com/images/jane%20recommends/hero.jpg

Oh my god, Francine, this book. This book, Francine. This book!

Enough of that. If you couldn’t tell, I loved this thing. I read it in 24 hours (would have been shorter but Dancing With The Stars finals were last night [stfu]) and I can’t say enough about it. Yes, I do have some complaints when it comes to what happens from the middle onward, but I’ll forgive that sexy Mr. Moore this time.

For those that aren’t familiar, Hero is a teen novel set in that Watchmen/The Incredibles/Mystery Men kind-of superhero universe.  The main character is the son of a washed-up hero fallen from grace. Oh, and he’s gay. With superpowers. Fuck. Yeah.

What I love about the book is that Thom, the teenage hero in question, isn’t struggling with his sexuality so much as struggling with the fact that he has superpowers and lives with a father that despises superheroes. He’s not too hot on the fags either.

Granted the dialogue is a bit over-the-top at times and the last half is nothing but melodrama, it’s still so very worth the reader’s time.

Since finishing this at 2 this morning, I’ve been looking into Perry Moore and found some fun news. THE Stan Lee enjoyed the book so much that they are working together to get a live-action project off the ground. I suggest they get Alan Ball on that shit with them.

2 thoughts on “Holding Out For This Hero

  1. Pingback: Aspirations and Inspirations « Letters to the Ether

  2. Pingback: Art Commission by the Badass Terry Blas | Geekery Converged

Leave a Reply

