Zen for the Day [Gundam]

Last Summer, Bandai released a new 1/144 model of the RX-78-2 to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the Gundam franchise. I was so excited to finally get a kit for the RX-78-2 (I had ordered one online previously but due to a stock issue, I was saddled with the GP01 instead), but the fact that it was a special edition kit made me terrified to build it.

CIMG0953 Flash forward to today, I decided to just suck it up and build the little bastard. I was already getting sick of the box taking up space on my dresser anyway.

I have to say, the amount of articulation Bandai put into this 1/144 kit is astounding. There are TONS of panel lines (which were bitches to color) and the range of movement is really something. They even segmented the torso so you can bend his waist a few degrees, which makes all the difference in the world. It’s a far cry from the inclusion of multiple torsos in the Endless Waltz sets. I really hope this shows up in more 1/144 kits.

CIMG0967 If you’re like me and aren’t comfortable painting your sets (i.e. my Exia disaster) you won’t notice nipper marks on this guy with one BIG exception. The Gundam Hammer mace weapon he comes with (sorry, I didn’t think to take a picture of it) is spotted with marks from the runner so bad it’s just unsightly.

And yes, I know, I could paint it and all would be well, but I’m a pussy and definitely NOT an experienced Gundam builder. I don’t trust myself enough to do it properly and not fuck it up utterly, so it remains for now.

Aside from that, this set is absolutely beautiful. I dare say it has already taken the no.1 spot in my heart which was held by the 1/60 Exia for all of 48 hours. I just friggin’ love everything about this set!

If you’re interested in getting one for yourself, Gundam Store and More still has them in stock.

CIMG0971

Leave a Reply

