Feeling Infinite [The Vast Fields of Ordinary]

nickburd

Monday afternoon I took a trip to the library because I was happy to see they had  a book I had been considering reading: Nick Burd’s The Vast Fields of Ordinary. I could have purchased the ebook on my new nook, but not knowing what to expect for $9.99, I decided to borrow it first.

I can’t even begin to express how much I loved this book. Well, actually I already did on Goodreads.

I absolutely loved this book from beginning to end and just couldn’t put it down. I have to open with that because it’s all I can really think about.
The Vast Fields of Ordinary is a fantastic coming-of-age story told from the point of view of a gay boy fresh out of high school, facing life during the summer before he starts college.
Reading this, I saw so much of myself in Dade Hamilton and could identify with the character on so many levels and I think many other readers will agree. You’re instantly transported back to that time in your life where nothing makes sense and the road ahead of you is just one massive blur of people and events that ultimately shape your character and allow you to carve your own path in life.
This book perfect for both the young who are approaching this amazing time in their lives and those of us who have already grown past it and think back on that time, remembering how surreal it all felt.
The story is raw, uncompromising and honest, never saccharine or pandering. It captures youth in a bottle for a new generation.
This book deserves a place right alongside The Catcher in the Rye and The Perks of Being a Wallflower on everyones’ shelves. If you haven’t read it, grab a copy now!

There is just so much I loved about this book. All I could think about as I read it was how much measures up to the greats like Catcher and Wallflower. And it was truly wonderful to read of a character who I can identify so closely with.

Nick Burd says that the book has already been optioned for a film and I’m all for it as long as it lands in the right hands.

I’ve already got some favorites for who should play which character, which is something I almost never do as I prefer to create the characters in my own mind.

For Dade’s father, Ned Hamilton, I think Jason Bateman fits the bill perfectly. There was no doubt in my mind when reading this that if it were a film, the part was tailor-made for him.
jason bateman

As for his mother, Peggy, I haven’t really hit on the exact right actress, but I imagine her to be something like Leslie Mann…actually the more I think about it, the more I do like the thought of Leslie Mann. It would be a good dramatic role for her.
Leslie Mann-DGG-019620

When it comes to Dade himself, I can’t think of anyone because I don’t really know young adult actors very well. There’s always a new one around the corner and I think they could do well just finding an unknown. The same goes for Alex, Lucy and Pablo. There are just too many young actors out there to really peg any one down to a role.

I read that Burd is hard at work on a semi-sorta-follow-up to the book, which he said is more like a B-side than a sequel. I just can’t wait to read it.

Leave a Reply

