Castle

castle

Well, good news from the ABC camp. It seems that someone on the board has the ability to point the barrel of the gun away from their collective foot.

Word came today that fantastic under-the-radar crime drama Castle will return in the fall for its 3rd season with a full 22 episodes.

I became a fan of Castle during its second season when I happened to catch an episode after Dancing with the Stars. I was instantly hooked and tracked down season 1 along with Heat Wave, the fictional-turned-real book taken from the world of Castle (fun read, btw).

I really couldn’t be happier about this news as I was sure ABC was set on destroying all things good on their network. This gives me a bit more faith in their abilities to judge their audiences, though the deaths of Pushing Daisies and Life on Mars are still damnable actions in my book.

Let’s hope ABC keeps the pace.

And while we’re talking about Castle, I want to take a moment to talk about the last two episodes; the 2-parter concerning the serial killer obsessed with Detective Beckett.

I really loved the way the executed the whole thing, adding more depth and urgency to the story. Though I definitely don’t want this to become the norm for the show, as I love the formula they’re already working with, it was a fun little distraction.

However, I had a lot of issues with the “FBI technology” they threw in there. The realism of the show was completely broken when they brought in the clear plastic multi-touch screens to solve the case and run impossible searches and cross-checks. Suddenly I was dropped into the Jeffersonian sans Bones and Booth. Though plenty of people will draw the Bones-Booth/Castle-Beckett parallels.

What I’m saying is, don’t ground the show in a realistic world and then suddenly throw in all this techy crap that’s still 10 years into the future. I’ll thank you for it.

Fortunately, it was only a 2 episode arc and next week things should be back to the lovingly abnormal world of Castle.

Leave a Reply

