Thrown Together [Pastries]

Yesterday I was faced with a dilemma: I had 2 hours to whip something up for a Pastry Party and absolutely no money to buy ingredients with.

So off to the refrigerator it was to see what I had to work with. I ended up with a package of cream cheese and a tube of crescent rolls. “I can work with this,” I thought.

I let the cream cheese soften for a while then threw it in a bowl and fluffed it around a bit while adding sugar until it had just the right amount of sweet and sticky tartness that makes your taste buds dance around.

The crescent rolls were stretched to within an inch of their lives before a dollop of cream cheese was placed on each one, then folded as untidily as possible just to make sure the cheese didn’t try to fight its way out when I put them in the oven (after a sprinkling of sugar and cinnamon, of course).

12 minutes later, they lived.

CIMG1062

And the result, I must say, was rather tasty. On first sight, everyone at the party thought they were cookies and they were attempted to be given several names, none of which seem to have stuck in my mind, but for now I shall dub them Cheese Bake Biscuits.

I made so few because I was sure they would be a bit of a disaster and I didn’t want to be be left with a ton of cream cheese heart killers, but to my surprise everyone seemed to enjoy them and there weren’t enough to go around.

Now, I’m sure I’m not the first person to have done this with no budget and little time, so I make no claim to inventing them. I just felt like sharing the cheesy goodness. If you’re ever in need of a quick fix pastry, you really can’t go wrong here. That is unless you’re concerned with your weight, in which case I would skip it completely.

CIMG1064

Leave a Reply

