I Have an Addiction…to Brightly Colored Yarns

You know when you live in a place for a long time and you think, “We never get any cool places here. I should just jump off the bridge"? Well, for me, that feeling is prolonged just a little further thanks to Serendipity Needleworks.

Serendipity, located at the intersection of University Boulevard and Queen City Avenue in Tuscaloosa, specializes in needlecraft with an array of high quality yarns from many companies and, if you’re like me, you’ll likely feel a rumbling in your cockles from excitement.

Now, it’s only been over the last 2 years that I started knitting (plus a long break from it last year), but I had never even heard of the store’s existence although they have been around since 2003. Shock and awe! But now that I know they’re here, I don’t know how I’ll be able to keep myself away (when there’s money in the bank).

I stopped by just a few days ago to have a look around and had to pick up a thing or two. I just couldn’t help myself. Now, one very cool thing is that some companies make special yarns just for their store, one of which I walked out with.

CIMG1185

This is “Tommy,” made by Lorna’s Laces and named after the owner’s father who has/had (sorry, I don’t know if he is still alive) sarcoma. And a portion of the sales from this special yarn go to sarcoma research. I’m magnetically drawn to shades of blue and I had to have this one. Now I just have to figure out what I’m going to make with it. All I know is that it has to be special.

My other purchase was more utilitarian.

2010-09-07 2010-09-07 001 002

Huzzah! Now I don’t have to lug around that overstuffed Jack Skellington bag everywhere. I can throw whatever I’m working on currently in here and GTFO. Aaah, sweet satisfaction.

Be sure to check out Serendipity Needleworks if you’re in town. But set a timer or you’ll lose yourself in the avalanche of color.

Leave a Reply

