A Return and a Review [The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan]

Been a long time hasn’t it? I apologize. Work has just taken the creative juices out of me and left me with little time to blog with passion. I am to break that with a quick review of a book I just finished last night.

Taken from my Goodreads review.

After being turned on to the Percy Jackson series shortly after the 5th and final book had been released, I was ecstatic to find out that Riordan was releasing a new series that took place in the same universe. I thoroughly enjoyed the Percy Jackson books (some more than others), so I knew this was a must-read. Oh boy, was it more than I expected.

The Heroes of Olympus series follows a new group of demigods discovering who they are a little later than most, and right from the beginning they are forced into the dangerous world of gods and monsters and must fight for their lives. The only problem is that one, Jason, has just woken up in a strange place with no memory of who he is or how he got there.

So, right off I was captivated by this book, more so than with any of the Percy Jacksons before it. Riordan went with a different storytelling method, taking the 3rd person and alternating between the three main characters with each chapter. This gives us more insight into our heroes as a group, while Percy presented us with a firsthand account of his adventures. This alternate method engages the reader so much more as we learn about Jason, Piper and Leo.

In the past, I had a tendency to find flaws with Riordan’s work, none of which hindered the reader, only broke the enjoyment of reading, but with Lost Hero I struggle to find fault with the story. This time around, everything is less over-the-top when it comes to plot devices, dialog and characterization and concentrates on the people and the epic adventure. I think it took some time for Riordan to settle into the world and characters he had created, but it has truly paid off.

In short, I loved every moment of this book and volume 2, which won’t be out until the end of this year, just cannot come fast enough for me. Until then I plan to devour The Kane Chronicles to see how he handles Egyptian myth.

Happy reading, everyone!

3 thoughts on “A Return and a Review [The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan]

  1. Dear Josh,
    having read many of Rick Riordan’s books, and being a teacher of Latin and Greek myself, as well as a gay man, I find it hard to overlook the male-erotic Tendenz of the latter two series. In the Percy Jackson series, we have a first-person narrative authored by an evidently straight guy, so the lad has no special interest in admiring the good looks of other young men. But in the “Red Pyramid” series (featuring switches between first-person male and first-person female characters) and in the “Lost Hero” series (so far only one book, but with third-person narration), Riordan finds many occasions for giving luscious descriptions of good-looking male teenagers. Does Riordan really believe the kind of boys he teaches, presumably straight — or so their rich parents hope and expect — , and presumably paranoidally homophobic, will really be very interested in knowing how well a T-shirt-and-jeans outfit fits on a well-proportioned young man’s body? Or rather, is he not doing that for himself?

    In which case: Good for him!

    • Haha. Very good point. I also noticed how often he talks about how good the guys look. Sure, I guess you can credit it to the perspective of our heroine Piper and the possibility that Riordan is just getting into the mindset of a teenage girl, but either way I’m happy. More Jason, please!

Leave a Reply

