Frivolity and the iPod Shuffle

At the age of 26 (with 27 looming in the near future), I have noticed a change in my spending habits. Where once I spent money openly on expensive purchases, earned from a minimum wage retail job, I now tend to horde it and shy away from anything with more than a $30 price tag, even if it’s something I’m greatly in need of.

However, the gym has become a more common destination lately and after several bumps, bangs and drops of my original iPod Classic, I decided enough was enough.

IMG_20110214_151454

That’s right, I, who vehemently decries the evils of Apple and refuses to give them any money, broke down and bought an iPod Shuffle. Had they not come back out with the older design and were still selling that horrible gum-packet piece of crap, this never would have happened. (Get over your button phobia, Steve Jobs.)

So far, I’m digging the little guy, even if it does take decades to load music onto it due to the fact that everything is done through the 3.5mm headphone jack.

This one definitely takes some getting used to. For one thing, Apple’s Voice Over is not preinstalled; you have to download it and put it on the Shuffle, which takes up a small amount of room. Without this, the dedicated Voice Over button is pretty much useless. After that I spent some time trying to figure out how to skip to different playlists (hold V.O. button until it reads the playlist names). Once you get it, it works smooth enough.

So, yes, where once I proclaimed I would never have any use for the Shuffle, I have changed my tune a bit. This is definitely a great device when you want to spend an hour on the treadmill while listening to podcasts or a workout mix. And I know I’ll use the hell out of this thing at work. However, I’m still very much on the anti-Apple bandwagon, so don’t expect me to show up with an iPad.

Leave a Reply

