Virtual [Pet] Insanity

I’d like to start off by thanking Stevo for his inaugural guest post here on Geekery Converged. That was born from a conversation about his recent resurge of interest in the world of Tamagotchis. In fact, it got me feeling nostalgic, so I dug through my closet and found a few of my old friends.

I was a lonely child.

Yep, that is what is left of my old virtual pet collection. Over the years about 4 or 5 have gone missing, some of which I was very fond of, including the Buzz Lightyear 3-in-1 virtual pet. I’m still hoping might turn up one day. You can see a video of it here.

The green and blue Tamas on the top right are the most recent additions, having been purchased around ’06/’07 when I worked at Toys R Us. They are Tamagotchi Connections v1 and v3, and the two that I decided to put new batteries in. However, the green one only lived for about a day because I realized how crappy the v1 Connections were and yanked the battery. The v3 was a vast improvement, so I decided to raise it exclusively. And today I was made the proud parent of an adult Pyonkotchi.

I know, you’re thinking, “Why the hell did you need so many virtual pets?” Well, I was a generally unhappy kid and my family tended to reward my good behavior and grades with whatever crap I was into at the time. Granted, a number of these were my brother’s, but the majority were mine. Hell, I have 3 versions of the cat, including: original, 2nd gen and KFC (yes, as in chicken) special edition.

But the one I obsessed over most of all was this:

Sabrina was one of my few girl crushes.

Yes, Salem the cat from Sabrina the Teenage Witch. I LIVED for TGIF (unhappy kid, remember?) and Sabrina was not to be missed in my house. So when they turned Salem into a Giga Pet, I couldn’t rest until it was mine. Actually, it’s pretty amazing just how many Sabrina toys I had, none of which were meant for boys.

At some point I’m sure I’ll buy those damn button batteries and resurrect him for a week, but until then I’ll be seeing how long I can keep my Tamagotchi alive.

2 thoughts on “Virtual [Pet] Insanity

Leave a Reply

