Hello Nexus 7, Goodbye Galaxy Tab 10.1!

It’s summer, and you know what that means. I mean, aside from temperatures hotter than Satan’s spandex-clad taint. That’s right, last week was Google’s annual I/O developer’s conference. A.K.A. Christmas in summer for geeks.

The big news (that we all saw coming) was the announcement of Android 4.1 Jellybean and the reveal of their newest Nexus device, the Nexus 7 tablet from ASUS. But leak or no leak, Google still managed to impress.

The Nexus 7 is the epitome of the affordable tablet in the 7″ department, and the exact direction the market seems to be going ever since Barnes & Noble unveiled the Nook Color (I know everyone is quick to mention the Kindle Fire, but B&N did it first, guys). What’s amazing about this device, aside from running the latest version of Android, is the amount of features you get for the price.

Starting at $200, the Nexus 7 includes a 1.2MP front-side camera, 8GB of memory, a NFC chip and 8 hours of battery life, all running on an NVIDIA Tegra 3 processor. And if you’re worried about memory, you can bump it to 16 gigs for an extra fiddy bones. That’s nothing short of astounding, even if Google nets zero profits off selling the thing.

So astounding, in fact, that I may have gotten a little crazy around 1 in the morning and put in a pre-order for the 16GB model.

Yes, the feelings of neglect Samsung has given me over ownership of the Galaxy Tab 10.1 finally got to me and I decided now was the time to act. And while I’ll be trading down in terms of screen size (lack of updates aside, the 10.1″ screen on the Tab is great for reading comics and magazines) I’ll be trading up when it comes to OS, processor and the promise of timely updates.

Sure, the Nexus 7 doesn’t have a back facing camera, but I used the one on the Tab no more than five times, and that was just to test out the quality. And c’mon, should anyone really be taking pictures with their tablet? Makes you look like a jackass.

So god’s speed, Nexus 7! I await your arrival at my doorstep mid-July (hey, it’ll be my birthday present!).

P.S. If anyone is looking for a slightly used tablet, I know a guy.

(More info on Nexus 7 and how to order, click here)

Leave a Reply

