Book Season

It’s been so long, hasn’t it?! I would like to thank my hellish nightmare of a job (which has incidentally now driven me to smoking and drinking heavily) for keeping me so mentally exhausted that all I do now is come home, watch Revenge and surf Indeed.com before passing out. This has lead to my not having cracked a book in some time, which for me is a painful thing.

But that will have to change now that we’re entering two major months for books (or at least the ones I’m interested in).

First up is the new novel in the Iron Seas series by Meljean Brook, Riveted, released September 4th. I’ve posted before about my accidental falling in love with the series after reading The Iron Duke for Felicia Day’s Vaginal Fantasy Book Club. The second book, Heart of Steel, completely bested the first and although Riveted is not a continuation, but rather new characters set in the same universe, my hopes are high that Brook will continue to improve on her steampunk concept. Yes, I still skip the boobies and coochie bits.

On September 11th was the fourth book in the Castle TV show tie-in Nikki Heat series, Frozen Heat. It’s no secret that I’m a super fan of both Castle and the Heat books (let’s choose to ignore the third Derrick Storm ebook for now, mmk?). What I find best about the book series is how well they stand on their own, requiring absolutely no knowledge of the Castle-verse whatsoever. That fact has led to the books being popular with mystery fans in their on right.

Well, this one should need no introduction. The 27th of September is the big day for J.K. Rowling. It’s her first book outside of the Harry Potter universe and the entire literary world is waiting to see what she can do without the use of wizards and wands. The Casual Vacancy is such a big deal, the manuscript has been locked up so tight, some say Deathly Hallows had less security. Or maybe I made that up. Whatever. Either way, expect to be hearing about this one a lot.

.
And finally, on October 3rd, we have the much anticipated third book in Rick Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus series. This time around, we’ll get to hear more of Annabelle’s side of the continuing saga. I loved the original Percy Jackson series, but I’m enjoying the Heroes books even more. Riordan’s decision to tell a much larger story from the perspective of multiple characters has really paid off, and The Mark of Athena is sure to feed fans’ hunger once again.

Looks like I’m going to be a bit busy until the end of October.

Leave a Reply

